Wednesday, May 2, 2012

CETA Faculty Members Receive U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Grant

Cy Yavuzturk and Tom Filburn, faculty members in the College of Engineering, Technology, and Architecture (CETA), are co-principal investigators on a recently awarded U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Fellowship Grant. Yavuzturk is associate professor of mechanical engineering and chair of the department, and Filburn is professor of mechanical engineering and biomedical engineering.

Under the grant, they will team with Professor Hanchen Huang at the University of Connecticut. The grant will provide $340,000 in funding for graduate students at both schools over the next four years.

Yavuzturk’s team at the University of Hartford will use these funds to expand their research efforts in the design and operation of nuclear power plants in the U.S. This new grant directly supports the Energy and Sustainable Design concentration available within the mechanical engineering program at the University of Hartford.

The grant will fund two full-time master’s candidates over the four-year period, paying tuition and a monthly stipend during the grant period.

No comments:

Post a Comment